Reininger on Twitter
Reininger on Yelp

Previous Offers
2/17/10
7/2/09
1/14/08
2/19/07

Oh, oh man… this is just mean. Do want.

No Vermont again. Was hoping 2011 would bring Helix-via-Woot back to Vermont, but no such luck. :frowning:

What is the alcohol content in this?

Seems to go for $21 (plus shipping) a bottle on wine-searcher.com so it doesn’t seem like an amazing deal. I’ve personally had the 2006 Pomatia (I bought a case here a while back) and have enjoyed it, but cannot attest to their 100% Merlot.

Edit: @ Nightghost: Alcohol content is 14.6% LINK

Indeed, the Helix Pomatia was good, if not great. two-dimensional with good fruit counterpoint. what makes this single-varietal Merlot more complex than that?

Wouldn’t a two-dimensional wine taste kinda flat?

(Sorry about that.)

well it wasn’t fizzy!

Funny, this has good acid, but the descriptions sounds quite ripe! how does that ffigure? I’m not a Merlot expert. Is this ready for drinking, or a long-keeping Merlot? My suspicion is that this being a second label it’s time to drink it up…

Oooh check out this pretty linky!

I already loved the Pomatia this summer and it’s hard to ignore this kind of ringing endorsement on top of that. Sounds like my kind of Merlot! Want to research a bit more on opinions and cost comparisons but given shipping costs most other places are killer and the east coast stores in general fail at bringing out the limited WA wines like these…pretty sure this is an auto-buy for me:-)

Edit: back from more research - more generally favorable notes/reviews.…the gold button looks more and more tempting:-)

Your link doesn’t work for me. 14.6% would typically mean a warmer climate Merlot. Stillwater Creek Vineyard experiences warm summer days and cool nights (and low rainfall) - very nice for Merlot.

This should differ a lot from the Long Island Merlots I’m used to (not that I’m that big a Merlot drinker). I hope we hear from Chuck.