Aduro Charging Station/Surge Protector w/6 outlets, 2 USB

$16.99 At amazon with prime.

Does this thing need an existing electrical outlet to plug into?

Yes. There’s an additional photo of the rear of the unit on the product page: http://www.aduroproducts.com/surge-protector-with-6-outlets-2-usb-ports-2-4-amps

I’m not an electrician, and I’m pretty bad at math, but something sounds wrong there.

The ‘2.4 amps total’ just refers to the USB ports. They are 1.2 each max, so they put the text in there so people do not buy this thinking the USB ports are 2.1 amps each.

I…think sharktopus was talking about the number of devices. 6 outlets + 2 ports = 7 devices?

Thanks!

OK, so I have been lead to understand that you should not leave a wall wart plugged in when not in use!!

Can anyone tell me what is the difference between this ??? piece of technology, and the 2 wall warts it replaces? I bet it wastes power just like the items it replaces! On second thought, IT WOULD BE MUCH WORSE, SINCE YOU CANNOT ROUTINELY UNPLUG THIS POS!

@Picky2Picky, An interesting question likely of more theretical than practical concern I suspect.

The implied question - does one or both of the USB or Surge Protector functionality vamp electrical juice when nothing is plugged in or nothing is turned on?

If properly designed (no way of knowing without testing) the circuitry should sip juice at a trivial rate whilst sitting idle. But the concern is technically valid.

So it is a buck less + faster to your doorstep at the mothership if you have Prime.

Unless you’ve already paid the one time $5 shipping on Woot during this holiday period, in which case it is 4 bucks cheaper here on Woot.

Handy gadget unless you want to charge more than a single USB device desiring 2+ amps (like tablets and larger phones).

14.99 today…