Cavedoni Botte Piccola Italian Balsamic

Damn. Two in a row. We have more than half a bottle left, but this is fantastic and should keep a long time unopened. Umm, umm, good.

I got this the last time it was available on wine woot and it is pretty amazing stuff. I recommend it.

HAHa, not enough for the price…

I’m new to the “gourmet basalmic vinegar” world, all I really know is it exists, and can be complex LIKE wine.

What kinds of meals or uses would I have with this stuff? How do you use it?

Worth it?

I’ve gotten pretty good aged balsamic (10-year) elsewhere for a fraction of the price (like $20-25 for 500ml). Is this stuff really a big step up in quality/taste compared to the average 7-10yr aged balsamic one can find in the marketplace?

Actually it cost $40 with shipping, which means it will set you back $5 an ounce.

Ditto. I save it and drizzle it over vanilla ice cream. My wife thinks I’m nuts. Oh well, more for me.

I’m gonna get me all plastered up on this stuff! Wooo! Shots!

Do they ship to Michigan… :smiley:

I hate vinegar and I don’t really like balsamic, but I love this over vanilla ice cream.

Buy it! Buy it! I doubt you will regret it. It is nectar. It isn’t vinegar as you know it.

This is fortuitous, because I just used the last of my Christmas woot bottle last night.

I love it with tomatoes.

Are you kidding?? $35 bones for vinegar. PAZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!

This balsamic is NOTHING like you’d put on salad. To start with, REAL aged balsamic is sweet. Yes, there’s acidity there, but it’s not intended for “normal” vinegar uses. It’s usually aged a minimum of 14 years. This stuff is intended to be used as a sauce. You can use this with fruits, ice creams, veggies, even as a component in more complex sauces. It’s worth it.

P.S. - When tasting, don’t use a metal spoon. Ruins the taste of the vinegar.

On vanilla ice cream. (No, really.)

On salad.

In delicious Olio Nuvo which, sadly, is not in season.