Chateau Bianca Pinot Noir (6)

Chateau Bianca Willamette Valley Pinot Noir 6-Pack
$64.99 $132.00 51% off List Price
2011 Pinot Noir, Willamette Valley

Any “Lab rats” info or other comments about the wine offering or winery? Thanks and Cheers!

If the producer drops by, I’d like to know how this compares to their '07 and '08 ‘barrel select’ that we’ve seen here in days past, that I rather enjoyed.

I picked up their P86 vineyard Pinot Gris at GO for around $4. Looks like Bianca is closing out some wine. Always good for us!

I always read that 2011 was not a good year for Pinot Noirs from the northwest. I am no expert but I always avoided them. Can one of the experts comment on that rumor. I would consider buying if we get some positive feedback…

I don’t follow Oregon pinot as much as some may here but you get 2 cents anyway. Even amongst the “pros” ratings and opinions will vary. But if you process the info and discard some of the noise I think what you find is a consensus that the wines are lighter and more delicate, generally easy on the alcohol and maybe best consumed sooner rather than later.
Similar to 2007 maybe?

Hi there,
Andreas here with the winery. The 2007 was a cooler vintage as was the 2011. Much more of what I classify as representative of what makes Pinot Noir so food friendly. The cellar select you refer to was also in a higher percentage of new oak.
Try it with Salmon, Ham, stew, or grilled meats. It will stand up to seasoning quite well.

Andreas with the winery here. 2011 was a cool growing season her in Oregon. What that translates to for the wine is a bit more acid on the finish, which is typical for this variety, especially in cool climate regions like Oregon. This gives the wine the ability to stand up to well seasoned foods such as marinated meats, BBQ sauces, spicy foods and aged cheeses. The acidity also gives the wine longevity, hence they don’t decline as those wines from hot vintages.