Chicago Cutlery

Pretty mediocre reviews (for the blocked sets) over at the sister site. Still waiting for my BOC!

Yep, “pretty mediocre” is spot on. I’ve got an 8" chef’s knife from Chicago Cutlery. I’ve used worse. $15 for 3-pack of these is a solid value, though, as they’re not horrible.

Chicago Cutlery is no longer what it used to be. For a long time it was a meat industry standard, and if you have older Chicago Cutlery knives, they’re probably pretty fantastic.

About 20 or 30 years ago, the Chicago Cutlery brand was acquired by General Housewares and manufacturing was moved to subcontractors in Asia (mainly China). Since then, the quality has gone vastly downhill, and the knives don’t hold an edge terribly well.

These would make a great gift for someone you don’t like very much. I would not buy them for myself.

I’m a retired chef/restaurateur and I’m pretty negative about Chicago Cutlery overall but I do like the 6.5" Santoku Centurion knife offered here (NOT the silly colored things). They are very solid and useful pieces of equipment and the one-piece blade and tang make them nicely balanced. I would buy 1/2 doz. at a time at a similar price for my restaurant and not worry too much if they "disappeared”. They take and hold a very sharp edge and my line cooks preferred them over the Dexter SaniSafe knives which are often the standard for commercial kitchens. I own an extensive collection of very high quality knives but I still use one regularly at home. Another advantage is that, at this price, they can be considered disposable if you should manage to screw it up.

I’m still rockin my going on 14 year old set (looks similar to the ashland here, but not that name)