Continuing Education...advice please?

Ok…so I’ve been thinking about going back to school…I did the whole college thing for about a year and a half, and it really was NOT for me. I stopped going to school and started working and just sort of stuck with that for a while. I’ve worked many different jobs over the past several years. Right now I work as a Veterinary Technician…I’m learning alot on the job as I go, but have had no formal schooling in the field. I love working with animals, but I’m having second thoughts about this field…I had alot more fun as a dog trainer and pet sitter, but the money just wasn’t there (unless you own your own business, which is a-whole-nother can o’ worms). Being a Tech is a very physically demanding and mentally stressful job, but it also pays better and I still get to work with my four-legged friends.

My mom has been on my ass the past few months to get my life together and go back to school. Part of me really does want to learn more and “increase my earning potential” and “make myself more marketable” and all those stupid, annoying, industry catch-phrases. Part of me says I work full time, sometimes 50-60 hour weeks, and I don’t have time for school…but even if I DID have the time for it I’m not sure about going into animal medicine and getting licenced as a Vet Tech.

When I DID go to college all those years ago, one of my true passions was art. I know I’ve never submitted a design here - even though I’ve toyed with the idea…just don’t seem to find the time to follow through - but I think I’m a fairly good artist. I’m thinking about going back to school for some kind of art related degree, but I have NO IDEA where to begin. I’d probably end up going for some sort of web design or advertising type of study, I guess, but I was really hoping for some suggestions/insider info/etc.