Das Keyboards

I’ve heard many good things about Das Keyboards. I’d be tempted to get one, but I already have three Razer BlackWidows lurking about…

$80 for a keyboard and it’s not even an ergo one? No thanks.

where’s the one with blank keycaps? that’s what helped make them famous to begin with.

also, part of what makes these nice is the nice clicky keys so you know you hit the key. they’re very nice to type on, similar to the old IBM keyboards from the 80s that weighed 10 pounds.

I’d get one, but the one that I’ve been using for the past 15 years that came with my eMachine still seems to be working…

@CGA1759, What you pay for is not the ergonomic design when it comes to a keyboard like this. These types of keyboards are often used by IT professionals because of the type of keys they contain. The Cherry MX Blue keys have a 40 weight to them, and since they are tactile (up down motion with an audible and pressured click) you get a more distinct force feedback from the keys. Often, mechanical keyboards that offer a tactile motion will allow a user to type much faster than a normal keyboard. I know that I can reach about 80-90 wpm on a normal keyboard, but with my mechanical keyboards I am able to type near 110-120 wpm.

@gibson Why not just buy the caps. I know quite a few people that just buys the blank coveres with colorized caps for specific keys like your Thresh [WASD] keys. Nice blackout caps are not expensive.

However, to anyone looking to get a keyboard like this. I would suggest going to a store and playing with the Razer Black Widow Ultimate keyboard first. See if you like the way the tactile keys sound and feel. There are multiple styles of keys out there with regards to the Cherry MX keys. Some, like Cherry Green, are harder to press. Others, like brown, make no noise.

See the following site for a good explanation of what some of the more common colors mean, and what they provide.

And the wiki:
http://deskthority.net/wiki/Cherry_MX