Dealy Lane Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc (6)

Dealy Lane Napa Valley Sauvignon Blanc 6-Pack
Sold by: Folio Wine Company, LLC
$59.99 $132.00 55% off List Price
2014 Dealy Lane Sauvignon Blanc, Napa Valley

So join or create a WW Gathering!

[grape]

I got a golden ticket! My first one!! Can you see the excitement??? And there was puzzlement,too, when the wine appeared-- the golden ticket was folded in the bottom, hidden under the packaging and I, being someone who believes an email that says, “your wine is on the way” is just clickbait from some ad, deleted the email without reading it. I figured it all out and here we are.

This is my first wine review here, you’re likely to get bored with my rambling but this is how I review wines in my wine journal (when I do review them and don’t just pop and pour). If it’s incoherent, forgive me. This isn’t my day job, which if you knew I cataloged books for a living this disclaimer might frighten you away from forging ahead, so I’ll leave it and move along to the review.

Details:
2014 Dealy Lane Sauvignon Blanc
Napa Valley
Michael Mondavi
14% alcohol

In the glass: pale golden straw-- no hint of green undertone, like I would have expected. Nice legs, showing off the alcohol.

On the nose: Absolutely none of the scent markers I love in a Sauv Blanc. No lime, guava, pineapple and no cat pee. Lots of citrusy fruit in the nose though-- but it’s lemony, with hints of mango? Tropical fruit?

It’s a bit too cold on first taste:, I tasted and then let it warm. Here’s the walk through:

@ 47 degrees
Medium body. Presents on the back of the palate. Maybe because of the 14%? Lemon first, with a middle bitterness of grapefruit and wait a minute…is that pineapple? Yes, a bit of honeyed pineapple finish. Not getting any mineral, herbal bite at all. Best to let it warm a bit and try again. Medium acid?

@57 degrees