Gemini Professional Audio Gear

Between this and the instruments that were on sellout, you could start your own indie band.

Who’s your favorite local band? And for those who have been in their own band, will these get the job done?

I have no idea what the dual media player, recorder thingy is for but I must have one…

Agreed. I’m new to DJ equipment. Anyone have any thoughts on the Gemini FIRSTMIX DJ Software Controller? Is it decent for A first timer or would you go with something else? Also, what is the Gemini CDJ-250 Tabletop CD Player? How do you mix with that? How is it different from the controller?

I think I still have my fruity loops subscription which I haven’t touched in years. Anyone know what would integrate with that in terms of hardware for a noooob?

The DJ controller has everything you need to get started out of the box, maybe minus headphones. It will let you mix your mp3s and has a basic pitch control (how fast the songs are playing), and a basic EQ with treble and bass. It would be a cheap way to jump in to DJing, although you would most likely want to upgrade your equipment later.

The tabletop CD player is just that, a CD player. It allows you to scratch and pitch bend but you won’t be able to mix unless you have two and a mixer. It is more expensive, but these are closer to what most clubs and DJs are using.

As far as using fruityloops with this, its possible but you will probably have your hands full learning to beatmatch and whatnot. You could patch it in through a channel in a mixer though.

The firstmixDJ controller is a toy… In every single aspect. Yes it is cheap, a cheap toy.

I know the price is tempting, and I always hate when equipment snobs say to “save and get real gear”… but in this case I understand. Unless you are like 12 and wanna mix bieber music, stay away.

I have owned many controllers from Hercules, M-audio, Vestax, and Native Instruments, they are all better than above. Find a good DJ forum for hardware advice.