High Valley Vineyard Barbera (4)

High Valley Vineyard Barbera 4-Pack
Sold by: Shannon Ridge Inc
$64.99 $132.00 51% off List Price
2013 High Valley Vineyard Barbera, High Valley, Lake County

[grape]

Wow! I was completely surprised and a bit anxious when I received the email informing me that I had received the Golden Ticket! I was to be a Lab Rat (aka, the Grape Debater) for today’s offering, 2013 Hidden Valley Barbera! Woo hoo!!! Free wine! Well, not exactly free.

Bottle arrived Tuesday around 1PM and forced myself to wait until 7PM before opening.

7PM Opened bottle and poured 1/4 glass just to get initial reaction:

• Eyes: Wow! The color is mesmerizing! Bright ruby red and crystal clear! Not as dark and foreboding as a Syrah or Cab, but redder and brighter than a Merlot. Beautiful color. Mouth watering just from the looks.
  • Nose: I’m not really good at picking out the odors, but after a several deep snorts, I started to think of caramel and vanilla and and smoke dried cherries.
  • Mouth: I haven’t had Barbera for a while and my initial reaction was…smooth! No hint of heat or tartness. Medium body. Not heavy/gritty as a Cab, but also not light like/airy a Pinot. Just a nice smooth finish with a nice caramel/vanilla/fruity after taste.

8PM:

• Poured another 1/4 glass to taste. About the same as the initial taste.
  • Put through the Venturi and still the same. Maybe a bit more robust. Still very smooth, blended taste. Nothing stands out as being particularly strong.
  • Long, thin legs on the glass
  • Flavor lingers on the back, outer sides of the tongue. If you let it sit on your tongue, you start to taste the spice.

8:30PM:

• Another 1/4 glass with some spicy, asiago chicken fennel sausage. Very nice complement. Brought out the spiciness in the sausage. I’m learning how to drink it and letting it linger in my mouth longer to get the spicy/smoky after taste.