JanKris Paso Robles Trio

Doggone woot, that’s 3 weeks in a row with nothing I want or need. That’s really odd. Maybe it’s just me. My cellar runneth over these days. The Riatta sounds the most interesting to my palate though.

ReverendChile — bless you!

not only are these 3 wines i’ve never tried before, they’re not too expensive. damn.

i’ll try to hold out but will probably cave by …uhhh…tomorrow.

Did he sneeze? Or does the first wooter need to be absolved of some sin?

Hrm, I would guess several of these will be coming my way by the end of the week. I’ll wait until the ferreteers of wine.woot.com come up with some reviews & commentary.
I found this on the 2003 (not 2004) Crossfire @ winespectator.com:
“The Syrah shows through in this blend. Tangy and ripe, with pomegranate, plum and black cherry flavors. Lively structure lingers, with cedary, coffee-tinged oak. Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Syrah. Drink now through 2008. 4,000 cases made. Wine Spectator Rating: 84”*

I’ve never been much of a fan of ‘blended’ wines, but I’ve had a few that were really quite good.

Interesting wine region.

I did some tasting two summers ago and was impressed by the quality of some of the wines. Only problem is the consistancy of the reds. A couple of are excellent, while many tend to be too expensive to warrent the price. Paso Robles, Santa Maria and Santa Barbara are all getting too big for their britches. They act like Napa in price and tasting room fees, but no quality.

Neat blends however. I might wait this one out and read some reviews. 2004 is supposed to be a great year up here, but I don’t know about Paso Robles.

These blends DO sound tempting. My wife, however, will raise hell if I purchase any more red - I think that a Sauvignon Blanc, Riesling, and Muscat, or a champagne trio would be an appropriate offering for next week… I’m sure that by Saturday, I’ll sneak a purchase, just like last week, and all the weeks before…