Jura Capresso Coffee, Tea and Espresso

Yum, a Woot Plus thread and coffee gear. Now that’s what this Seattle person likes. :slight_smile: Let’s get coffee nerdy.

Anyone want to talk grinds and beans with us?

I’ve been grinding coffee for a few years but use a blade “grinder”, you know, it’s more like a blender than a grinder. Is a true burr grinder better?

I’m hardly an expert, but the general thought is that blade grinders are a little chaotic, and leave your beans in different size bits, while a burr grinder pretty consistently grinds everything to a specific size, theoretically leading to more consistent flavor.

Alton Brown keeps his blade grinder around to grind spices, though, so don’t necessarily ditch it even if you upgrade.

I just switched to a burr grinder about a month ago. So far I love it, the coarseness of the grind is much easier to control, and it might be psychological but I do believe my coffee tastes better.

mebe I’ll buy one since woot put one on sale.

Depends on how you brew. Blade grinders are fine for drip coffee, and so-so for a coffee press, but for espresso machines, moka pots and such, you really want a uniform grind; a burr grinder.

A burr grinder is better but I don’t recommend this one. Capresso sells a better, more expensive burr grinder that is good. This one is a piece of crap.

Have you actually tried this one before?

If you need a true fine espresso grind, DONT BUY!

I have one of their better grinders (more $$$) and one of their better espresso machines. Recently I found one of their similar grinders to this one unused at a sale. I noticed later that it looked like the same Chinese grinding mechanism I had seen in several other brands in the under-$50 price point.

Sure enough, like the others, it grinds well down to drip grind but fails completely for espresso grind. It does do a good job for moka pots and press pots.

But I’m 98% sure this is just another Chinese cheapie to fill in a particular price-point.