Krave Jerky

I LOVE this stuff!!!

“Tender slices of domestic beef are double marinated, then baked, resulting in an extraordinarily moist, soft and chewable jerky.”

Baked? Sorry Charlie, that aint jerky.

WIKI SEZ: “Jerky is lean meat that has been trimmed of fat, cut into strips, and then dried to prevent spoilage. Normally, this drying includes the addition of salt, to prevent bacteria from developing on the meat before sufficient moisture has been removed. The word “jerky” derived from the Quechua word ch’arki which means “dried, salted meat”.[1][2][3] All that is needed to produce basic “jerky” is a low-temperature drying method, and salt to inhibit bacterial growth.”

I’m pretty sure that baking in an oven is an acceptable method of drying… I’m a soil scientist and that’s how we dry our soil samples, I don’t see why it wouldn’t work for meat. My wife cooks bacon in the oven and that’s the best way to get it nice and crispy. A different temp would be used here of course, but anything over the boiling should remove moisture.

who cares how it is cooked? it is YUMMY!!!

So why is it that every (USA made) jerky is made with sugar?

Baking at low temperatures IS a “low-temperature drying method.”

Dear Joe Dirt,
As a soil scientist, I’m sure you can understand that “baking” and “drying” are non synonymous.
Baked beef aint jerked, it’s cooked.

You might try the jerkyspot.com for American made biltong. In fact, google is your friend–there are several places based in NY which make both biltong and versions of jerky without loads of sugar. I had my first experience with biltong when I visited Zimbabwe several years ago and immediately became a convert.

I just bought a 16 oz. package of the Black Cherry Barbeque flavor at Costco for under $12. I thought Woot was suppose to SAVE us money.

Me too and the sampler pack has all the best flavors IMO. In for another set…