lcd tvs

I’m new to woot – I’ve never purchased anything here. I’m looking for a really good deal on an above average tv. I’m not looking for a 60+" TV like woot usually offers or a 20" LCD tv for $500+ like you see in the stores.

I’m looking for something in the middle, a 32-40" (Flat? LCD?) TV for < $650. Am I asking for too much? It seems like just a few years ago it was much easier to shop for TV’s – now we’re being thrown buzz words left and right (DLP, LCD, Plasma, HDTV, etc). I think I understand the gist of it… Plasmas are good for very large tv’s, LCD’s are better for medium size TV’s. DLP uses a bunch of funky mirrors and is more reliable than whatever it replaced. Then there’s HDTV which is of no use to me as I only have free cable (~70 channels) and DVD’s do not have the same resolution as the higher HDTV standard (correct me if I’m wrong). Finally there’s EDTV, which I read about online and which seems like the best solution for me, yet I’ve never actually seen or heard about one on tv.

I was almost sold on an infocus projector while browsing shopathome on TV and was extremely thankful I didn’t buy it. After the infocus projector, they shifted to toshiba laptops, which I’m much more knowledgeable about, and I realized the salesperson was 1) an idiot, and 2) lies through his teeth to sell his product (ie: his main selling point was “POPUP BLOCKED”, which he claimed was exclusive to his toshiba laptop – yet he failed to mention it’s built into Windows SP2). It feels like it’s impossible to find a good honest deal anywhere without people trying to screw you. -end rant-