\m/ RAWK RAWK RAWK \m/

I repair musical instrument for a living and you should all be forewarned… You get what you pay for. Don’t expect me to fix your shitty clarinet or flute you got off some website because chances are you will be back at my repair bench within the week for another fix. Brand name is the only way to go when it comes to musical instruments… don’t let some sweatshop slave use a lead-based solider on your flute.

What he said! I can’t even imagine what corners were cut to produce a guitar for under $70, but cheap musical instruments only frustrate beginners even more. It’s hard enough to learn to play without dealing with sharp frets, lousy action and untunable intonation.

OTOH, Seasoned players who want to give the bar a Hendrix/Who “destroy your instruments on stage” kind of show? This woot’s for you!

Let me be number three to say, JUNK! I have over 40 years on guitar that includes teaching and sales. You want something to hang on a wall in your den or bar, OK. You want something that will stay in tune, be playable and give reasonable service, run as far as you can from this stuff.

In all seriousness, how bad can one of those ukuleles be for $20? I’m thinking of getting one to mess around with and have my kid sing a few simple songs with. If not, what is a decent ukulele?

I get what you’re saying about those other guitars though.

Karl

Really, really unplayably bad. A $70 guitar will at least get you somewhere (but nowhere great), the $20 ukulele will not tune and will have unreplaceable simple fishing wire instead of strings. Really.

There’s some passable $60-80 Oscar Schmidt ukuleles on Amazon. And go for the very most popular “concert” size instead of these sopranos (which are so small that they feel like a dinky toy at almost any price point).

a makala dolphin from a place that does setup like ukerepublic is safer althogh they may also send out a lemon.

the drum kit doesn’t look bad…

“Pro”… hmmm.

Drum kit is “pyle pro”… nuff said.