Mercer Genesis 6-Piece Forged Knife Block Set

The “regular price” on this item is bogus! I love the knife set and it’s listed at a good price, but they are usually $150 not $370.

I am a certified chef with over 30 years of experience, so I know what a taper ground blade is. I received these knives today. They are referred to as Taper Ground, and they are not the cutting edge is beveled, not taper ground. I purchased these knives because taper ground knives are hard to find and very expensive. All of that being said, they are still a good deal for what they are. I will give these knives to a young professional working in my kitchen. They are a perfect starter set for a young professional, and that is all they are. Here is a description of what taper ground actually means.
Taper ground is one solid angle from the spine of the knife to the edge of the blade, there is no beveled edge that is ground at a sharper angle. Taper ground blades are much sharper, and stay much sharper. They are also a lot harder to sharpen as you have to sharpen the entire blade, rather than just the edge. Think of an old fashioned straight razor, and you will understand what I mean.
Save

Rate & Review

Email

Print