NETGEAR Orbi Home Mesh WiFi System

NETGEAR Orbi Home Mesh WiFi System

I bought a pair of these less than a month ago, ran setup and they were SLOW. I contacted Netgear for some assistance to NO avail. I really wanted them to work but they were slower than my original router.Unfortunately Netgear support was non existent. If you decide to purchase these good luck. I sent mine back. I worked as a Data Systems Engineer for years and consider myself to be technically savvy and cold not get any speed out of them. Again GOOD LUCK!!!

1 Like

I bought it in the past, hooked it up, took it down, sent it back. NOT any better AT ALL then my standard router and costs wayyyyyyyyyy more. Save your money, is my suggestion. The only thing this has going for it is it looks cool.

1 Like

I was looking to extend the wi-fi signal to the far side of my house, did a lot of research and tried several different things. A lot of mesh systems were too costly and too slow while cheaper things such as wi-fi extenders were too problematic. Plus the cost and effort of running new network cables was not appealing either.

What I discovered was my cable TV/internet provider’s (Comcast Xfinity) modem router has a setting called “MoCA” built into it, which extends your network over your existing coaxial cable TV wiring. They use this if you have a “whole house DVR” system, but it’s also great for extending your wi-fi. For less than $12 I picked up a MoCA wi-fi network extender from the mothership, add in a few extra bucks for a cable splitter that handles the MoCA frequencies and a filter for the incoming line to keep the network “inside” my house and now I have wi-fi everywhere. Plus it doesn’t take up any of my wireless bandwidth because all the data flows along the cable TV lines. All for less than a $30 total investment.

Now I get full wi-fi signal and speed everywhere in the house (yes, even in the bathroom…), my system is reliable, it was easy, and above all it was cheap!

4 Likes