NETGEAR Orbi WiFi System - 3 Pack

NETGEAR Orbi WiFi System - 3 Pack

I got this same set about a month or so ago at BB, almost wish I waited. I’ve always had trouble getting a signal from the second floor to the basement. I use to use those wall wart power line network adapters but they weren’t as reliable or fast as this setup is for me. It works really well. I like how the satellites have two Ethernet connections each besides the WiFi repeating. I use one to connect my Nvidia Shield Plex to my NAS drive. No issues up to 4K . Now I have a strong signal in the house and my smart devices have strong connections. I guess my only complaints are the setup options are relatively limited compared to the D-Link DIR-895L this setup replaced. Also, the main unit only has 3 Ethernet connections. Setup was relatively simple though.

1 Like

I have been using Orbi with a single satellite for about 3 years. It is awesome. Basically maintains near-wire-line speeds, wirelessly. Compared to older routers and the first gens of linksys and netgear single-router implementations for the home, the Orbi blew them away. I am not sure when Netgear makes an Orbi that is wifi 6/802.11ax, when I will upgrade… probably when lags or high capacity streams dictated (like 8K TV streams). Anyway… these refurbished ones come with a second satellite so are better than half price. Only thing I wish is that the USB port were USB 3 or C, and were capable of connecting and hosting a network storage drive.

1 Like

I bought the single satellite version here about 18 months ago. It has been rock-solid. A couple unexpected bonuses - it has Disney Circle built in which is great to keep the kids safe. Also, the satellite units have RJ45 jacks so we can plug the basement desktop computer into it. We have a perfect signal everywhere in our 4,500 sq ft house, plus the yard.

1 Like

Don’t do it!