Networks: No Longer In The Future

While they may seem attractive in price, I have had some experience with these western digital routers (on the service side in customer’s homes) and find it hard to suggest them to anyone. They are picky about the connected operating systems on a good day and intermittent regardless on a bad. I remain a steadfast Western Digital hard drive fan, but suggest you steer clear of their networking products.

My experience as well, fussy and intermittent. I use this as a wifi extender - when it is working. While not an IT professional, I know my way around a bit - and have found other products have more stable. Net, don’t waste your $20.

I got the n600 and it’s worked great right out of the box. Range is kinda weak but the connection has been perfect and the DLNA feature of the attached hard drive was something I didn’t even expect. I hooked up an el cheepo hard drive that i had lying around, put a bunch of movies on it and BAM! Now I’m streaming movies on my ROKU Not bad for $20 and some spare parts.

On a side note, why when I try to use the word “l a m e” in a post does it replace it with the word “snow”? Try it. it’s weird.

Are any of these compatible with DD-WRT? I have been in the market for a new router, and if one of these could run it well…

Computers talking to computers? No good can come of this.

Hi - do you have a recommendation? Thanks!

I have two of the MyNet 600 units converted to OpenWRT Barrier Breaker (latest). It’s not a perfect answer to your question but if OpenWRT runs (and it runs well - no instability noticed) I’m thinking that DD WRT is a good bet.