Norton 360 Deluxe 2022 for 5 Devices

Norton 360 Deluxe 2022 for 5 Devices

1 Like

I have heard that Norton is resource intensive (RAM, storage). Would like to hear from folks who have +/- experiences or expertise. Thanks

4 Likes

Why would I want to buy spyware for my devices?

4 Likes

I’m a cybersecurity analyst in my day job and I haven’t used Norton or McAfee etc. for decades. If you want good performance, reliable detection with low false positive and false negative rates, I personally like Eset as a general rule. They’ve been regularly at or near the top for many years and are known to tune their scanning engine for low resource use and have done so since at least the mid-2000s.

I have also liked Kaspersky in the past but they typically haven’t been as resource friendly, and if you do anything with the US government, they no longer allow its use on anything that connects to their systems due to it being a Russian company. That said, if you’re comfortable with that, the Russians do know their technology pretty well and it was always a quality product prior to the government banning it from its systems.

For next gen Anti-virus, Cylance has a consumer offering, but I find it has a lot of flagging of anti-piracy and anti-cheat systems in video games that you have to sort out yourself and decide whether you’d rather be exposed to the risks or not play games that use those systems because they often get flagged every update or two.

I also used Panda for a few years and had good results, but theirs was usually a little worse at detections and a bit higher resource usage (and was getting more resource intensive towards when I switched to Kaspersky and eventually to Eset).