PC Binge

I was looking at that lovely 11" MacBook Air, and noticed that you can get a better one (e.g., more storage and memory) for $50 more straight from Apple.

Comparison page at Apple.com

Poot.

I really want to pull the trigger on that Alienware PC, anyone out there able to maybe talk me out of/into it?

So Woot only had one?

I’m no computer expert but there a lot of comments in the previous sale in Jan.
http://tech.woot.com/forums/viewpost.aspx?postid=5302840
Some not thrilled with video card or second generation i7.

You should have no reason to buy a gaming PC when you have absolutely no idea what you are purchasing.

The CPU is a second gen I7. In reality it really doesn’t make much difference if it’s 1st gen of 4th gen i7, for most gaming any i7 is good enough. 16gb is more than enough to fulfill any need. After that the computer is nothing but mediocre.

The video card is inadequate in having only 1GB of ram, it also painfully slow.

For the price and Alienware name you would expect at least a mid range video card, not a graphics card from your mom’s Dell. You would even expect a SSD at this price range for a $1000 2600k build.

Look elsewhere.

Hate to be “that guy” but the Toshiba laptop says it is “Powered by the latest Intel® 3rd generation Core™ i7-3630QM quad-core processor” and that’s kind of false advertising because it is not the latest: 4th generation Haswell chips are available.

DONT

Look around at other sites. For 1000 you can find a computer with better everything, especially the graphics card. That card is really pathetic for a 1000 rig.

Edit:
In fact any one of theses would be better

This would be almost perfect except if you need 2 tb of storage. But you can buy 2tb for 100 and plug it in easy.

Look at that i7 Acer powerhouse, and look at those MacBook Pros, and tell me that the Apple tax is not still alive and well. That’s around 100% more expensive for the fruit logo and their take on a Unix desktop…