Put a Steak in it

Knife fight! Knife fight! Tell me your favorite of these brands below and why. :slight_smile:

MORE SHUN KNIFES PLEASE!

When I used to work in a restaurant we’d fight over who didn’t have to use the knife with the exact same shape as Cat Cora’s 8 inch chef knife. We’d usually make whoever the new guy or gal was use it. And because we’d all been the newbie at one time we knew just how awful that particular shape is. Well, I should say it’s awful at not stabbing into your hand or fingers at any given moment. Most chef’s knives have a downward pointing tip for a reason. They’re much less stabby. Also, they’re not filet knives and aren’t meant to be. That’s generally where you see a flat back and a pointy tip in line with the spine.

Hi…

Can someone please help me?

How does the Shun VGE0150STB Pro 150mm Steak Knife blade compare to the 4 Shun Ken Onion Knives that I just recently purchased here?

Will I be happy with them?

Thanks!

Them? Unless they’ve made a mistake in the text, that’s $60 for one steak knife. I might consider $60 for four, but they ain’t that pretty.

I personally love my Shuns. The blade is the sharpest out-of-the-box blade I’ve ever found. The steel is good, and blade designs are generally practical and well thought-out.

Kyocera ceramic blades are quite sharp, but I don’t have any at this point, because I broke mine. I know there are people out there who swear by them, and I can attest that they’re quite sharp, but I never managed to keep one for more than a year.

As for the Pro Edge electric knife sharpener, it’s good for knives you don’t enormously value, but I wouldn’t use it for any nice knives. Better to use a steel frequently, and get them sharpened, or better yet learn to sharpen knives yourself! But for run of the mill steak knives or knives you just keep in a kitchen drawer, this is a handy gadget.