Running : Doing the LSD, and Lovin' It

A thread for discussion about running; any kind of running, and anything about running!

I don’t know how strong the running presence is on these forums, but any runners, experienced or new to the sport are welcome. (And non-runners too!)

I’ll start it off:
I’ve been running competitively for 5 years now, and my primary events are the 8km (in cross-country), the 1500m, and the 800m (in track).

Anyway, I’m looking for a reliable place to buy cheap running shorts (mine are mysteriously disappearing - and I’m looking for some decent split shorts). Dick’s and such, as well as dedicated running stores are always overpriced. My favorite online running store right now is Eastbay - they have pretty decent deals. I’m looking for something cheaper, though, with better shipping rates, and with decent reliability. Where do you guys buy “quality running apparel?”

I got a “fugly” pair of Asics running shorts on the closeout rack at my local running store for $1.99! And I’ve heard that (shudder) Wal-Mart has it’s own brand of athletic wear that is also pretty inexpensive when it goes on sale.

I prefer to shop the local store rather than the brand-name stores like Dick’s and Sports Authority. You pay a bit more, but the workers at those local stores really take the time to match you up with a decent pair of shoes that fits your running style.

Running/jogging is good because it lets me eat whatever I want.

Also, some races have a “clydesdale” weight group for fat guys over 185 or 200 pounds. I can kick butt in that weight group, as most fat guys don’t want to admit it and enter in that weight class, and I am sort of tall so even though I push 200 pounds, it’s spread out over 75 inches of height!

Mr. Kneny,

I would just hide in some bushes near a jogging trail and club a passing runner that was my shoe size. That may be just me, though.

Eh? I don’t jog, and I eat whatever I want, Mr. Kneny.

I’m 4’ 10" and 800 lbs.