SainSmart Genmitsu CNC 3018-PRO Router Kit

SainSmart Genmitsu CNC 3018-PRO Router Kit

A video from the adorablest lady in tech showing the assembly on this and a test run

2 Likes

Holy cow, that’s exactly what I wear in my shop, too. What are the odds…props to her, she makes it look good. Me on the other hand, not so much…more lumpy weirdo than hot.
Anyway, I pulled the trigger on this thing. Two bones is good for a baby CNC. Even if I wind up using it to cut out hardboard templates for a proper router I’m not going to be disappointed.
There were more reviews on Amazon than linked here.

1 Like

I have this unit. It’s fun, albeit useless. It works great, I just have not found a good application for it.

1 Like

I am a total newbie to 3D printing and CNC. Having not been paying attention, I am somewhat stunned that I can spend $200 to buy a machine to carve a block of aluminum up to 7x11x1.75"!

Why is it useless? That part is not clear to me.

What kind of software would I be looking at to drive this machine on different platforms? I could support Linux, Windows, or Mac.

@Fardinando The controller software is GRBL. It is open-source and runs on Linux or Windows. No MAac support yet.

Are any of these machines able to print something useful? Not being snarky. I just seem to recall a story I saw on TV several years ago about a store in Canada that would let you bring in your broken blender knob, dryer knob, etc., they would scan it and print you a new one. So you didn’t have to toss the whole blender (or break out the vice grips). Is that type of software available for these things? Or am I just going to make a bunch of Hodor door stops for my friends?