SiliconDust HD Digital Tuner

I don’t get it…what does it play? All the HD channels?

Can this work on your computer? I would assume you need some kind of card in your machine. Im not technical; sorry. Thank you.

Aw shucks! From the thumbnail, I thought these would be some kind of handcuffs.

Does the three tuner version need a cable card, in order to simultaneously access three channels? I mean, can I use it to access three over the air channels at once, or is it just for 1 cable and 2 over the air channels at once? I’m definitely going to buy one of these, but I don’t have cable, so if the three channel one isn’t going to be of any use to me…

Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004HO58SO/ - $88.85 - 4.3 stars (2 tuner version)
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004HKIB6E/ - $160.22 - 4.6 stars (3 tuner version)

Under stats the Prime states that it requires a cable card, so can it not function solely using an antenna for OTA channels?

No, it will just pick up basic cable channels that are broadcast in HD. Many new TV’s already have one built it so check yours to be sure. My TV does have one built in an I get 7 HD channels. Woo!

Ok, for the confused…
The dual tuner version plays Clear QAM (aka, unencrypted) and ATSC channels. Basically, these are all the local, free channels that you can probably get over the air via antenna, and also tend to be carried by cable provider’s lines.
The three tuner version allows you to plug in what’s called a CableCard. This allows it to decrypt cable channels. You get a cable card from your cable provider.

So how does it work? You plug in an antenna or your cable into the box, and plug the ethernet into your network. Now any computer on the network can watch TV.
I personally use Windows Media Center on multiple computers around my house. This allows me to watch TV wherever I want, and also doubles as a DVR on my primary computer.