Tell Me About Your Doctor (Who?)

It’s true what they say, you never forget your first Doctor. :slight_smile:

I know we have a lot of Doctor Who fans around here (I mean, that “no Doctor Who” rule must be in the most recent Derby for a reason), so gather as ye may.

So who was your first Doctor? Which is your favorite? Where would you recommend a newbie start if they wanted to (asking for a friend on that one)?

Now, I’m a huge Doctor Who nut, I don’t think that’s any great secret. I started with Nine back in the day and was hooked instantly with this “new to me” series. I’ve been a fan ever since, enjoying each of the things a new regeneration has brought to the role.

My cat (“The Intern”) came into the fold with Eleven, and as such enjoys the more “character driven” vs “scary monster” style stories. Perhaps I was a bad cat parent for letting her sit fascinated in front of the tv every once in a while, but such it is.

Lately, I’ve been exploring the older Doctors and have made it a goal to try and get through all the older episodes, too.

How about you?

[qualityposts=5067387][/qualityposts]

Never actually saw it.

Ah perfect! Help dname find a good episode to start with! :slight_smile: It’s a fun show with lots of history!

could she possibly appreciate the early doctors? That pompous guy(#3? or 4?) with Sarah Jane? or Doctor #2 with his recorder (Moe reincarnated as a Brit)?

Well, my English half suggests that you 'merkins should start with the American made movie.

If you were insisting I make a suggestion, maybe the 5 doctors would be a good place to start, just to learn a little of 5 of the personalities.

my personal introduction to the series came probably somewhere around pertwee/baker.

All I’d suggest is anyone can start watching anywhere, just enjoy it, and don’t expect it to be more than mindless entertainment, it’s not supposed to be taken so seriously.

(And you really should watch K9 and company, it’s infinitely better)