TomTom & Garmin GPS

Funny picture. A MBenz with Nav that needs a Tom-Tom. Slightly redundant.

My thoughts exactly!

That just tells you the quality of the onboard nav. It sucks like every other one.

That’s so true! Every Benz Nav I’ve seen so far…

Any experience with TomTom? Is it better than a Garmin? I’m not wild about my Garmin.

This picture is worth the price of admission. I hope Woot is behind this picture because if this is Garmin’s doing they need to fire their advertising agency.

I had the 6" TomTom with traffic, I have to commute into Miami everyday, which is sort of like driving through Mad Max land. Like overturned tractor trailers, etc… Once, a plane crashed onto the highway! It’s nuts. That TomTom saved my butt. Really easy to read the display, good rerouting when there’s a slowdown (here that’s every day). I even thought the GPS voice was sexy :wink: Then some jerk broke into my car and that was the only thing they stole. I’m a grad student, I can’t afford to go buy GPS units very often. A friend gave me a Garmin she never used. I should be grateful, but I just miss my TomTom. The Garmnin is all cold and sterile, business-like. I’m sad I can’t pick one up now at this price. Sigh. I miss you TomTom.

I feel Garmin’s the best. And you just can’t beat their customer service, all in America, they’ll go to every end to help you! That, in my mind, makes them best.

I’m in for one.

OOPS! Wait a minute… Does this unit have the “breadcrumbs” feature, where you can see where you’ve been? I don’t see it in the specs.

And, BTW, this is a “discontinued” device

Anyone know if ‘North America’ includes Canada?