WD MyNet N600 2x2 Wireless N Router

Newegg Reviews

Newegg show this as $99.95, $60.00 more then the Woot list price? Either a really good deal here or a really bad deal on Newegg.

Probably these didn’t sell so well because they are pairing 300Mbps wireless with 100Mbps wired.

OTOH, less than twenty bucks for a great network appliance and service manager with larger-than-average RAM, flash, and USB! OpenWRT and in for three !

Don’t buy one of these. Got one through woot a year ago and it never worked, kept going offline and would have to reboot. Google reviews and you’ll find lots of same issues.

Any confirmation we can flash a new firmware on this. DD-WRT, Open-WRT, Tomato, etc? I’d be in for a couple if so. I’m sick of belkin pos’s.

I’d buy a couple if I could find anything saying that it is supported in dd-wrt. I did find info that openwrt is supported, but I’ve never used it before and know nothing about it.

http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/wd/n600

I can’t understand any manufacturer putting 10/100 ports on an 802.11n router. Even at this low price, just not worth it without gigabit ports.

I picked this up last time around too. All in all it works pretty well, but will every once in a while hit a bad spell where I’ll have to reset it once a day for a week. The wifi will be fine, but it drops the internet connection.

OpenWRT does work on these. I bought this model about a year ago, and recently flashed OpenWRT to it. It seems perfectly fine, but not slick as DD-WRT.

I got this last time on Woot and
I can confirm that OpenWRT installs fine on this router (thanks for the link, I have finally got around to playing with it), wireless works as well (I did not test the n radio though). This is a nice router for experimenting, it seems: USB, serial header, all accessible.

DD-WRT used to be a clone of OpenWRT with a slightly friendlier web interface but ever since he started playing licensing games, I stopped checking.