Week-long Derbies?

Since we’ve had two, and 3 more to follow, what is everyone’s reaction to these?

They seem VERY long to me by contrast, but I like the extra exposure the designs are getting. As an artist, I also appreciate the extra time to work something(s) up.

Where do you all stand? Like it? Hate it?

The week long time frame goes back to how it was before the “mini-derbies” came about, with the biggest difference (and best IMHO) of the theme being pre-announced. Giving artists more time to work on their design(s) certainly allows for a more level playing field for a more detail design to compete with simpler designs.

(In the past, there was just 24 hours from reveal on Thursday at noon to open submission on Friday at noon.)

With two derbies a week, I can’t help but to feel some burnout with artists along with the continued contribution to Woot’s overall issue with “paradox of choice”. 20 new designs a week is a lot already; 30+ new designs a week with the double-derby can be very overwhelming to a casual or new Wooter.

I generally don’t even enter the mini-derbies because I don’t have much design time during the week. The extra time and pre-announcement of the 10k themes has been a big help to me, personally.

I’m thinking you’re not the only one lacking the time on weekdays, as many others here have other jobs also.

Yup, pretty much all of this. I’m happy to be back on 1 derby a week, especially with a full week to prepare.

Half the reason I started doing derbies was because it forced me to do some art during the week. I work so much in graphic design and web design (because it pays well) that I neglect my art, and my starving artist needs to come out of its cage. Having two derbies a week gives me a solid reason to create something cool twice a week. So, that being said, I like it. :slight_smile:

I also like having more time, but inevitably I wait til the last minute anyway.