What program

I have been looking at all the derbys and seeing all of the shirt ideas, and decided i wanted to start making my own, however i don’t know what program to use, or how anyone is making their designs. Any suggestions???

This gets asked a lot!!! Might even be a permanent thread for it in the world of shirt.woot by now.

I believe the most common answer is Adobe Illustrator.
However the free option is inkscape.

Personally, I’m not good at vector graphics so the occasional times I enter I use Adobe Photoshop
The free option being GIMP.

Maybe some of the actual designers will have something else to say, but . . . . they don’t come down here too much (other than the regulars over at the cyberpub - but they are cooler than other shirt designers!)

I did my current entry in Photoshop, but normally I use Illustrator just because it’s less of a resource hog on my computer when I’m working at print size.

A free program like Inkscape or the Gimp would probably be a good place to start if you’re not really familiar with Adobe software (or pleased with the price tag). There are lots of tutorials about using these programs, but sometimes I like to just go with trial and error.

Good luck!

i usually just settle for “error”.

without error, to what could we compare success? :slight_smile:

mediocrity?

I guess that depends on whether you’d drop mediocrity into the error bucket.

i think of “mediocre” as being of middling quality or “ordinary.” neither error nor extreme success.

SO i have made a submission i would like to enter in inkscape, how do i convert it to a jpeg, or into a file type that is suitable for woot to use???

Should be something in ‘save as’ under the file menu.

sounds like you may benefit from additional reading. here are some links stolen from ehalcyon’s sig:

unofficial derby rules
designing for the derby
tips for new designers