WindChaser Stainless Steel Portable Ice Maker

6-8 minutes? how?

I owned one very similar to this and was very disappointed. Doesn’t make enough ice fast enough.

Anyone know if this is energy star approved? I know having a refrigerator with EnergyStar makes a difference, but what about an ice cube maker?

$70 less than the 'furb at Zon

Seriously, I have been contemplating getting one of these for 2 years now. I could never tell if I had to hook it to a water source and a drain or not. No one at the stores could tell me either. By the time I got home I never remembered to google it.

(need ice for our blog http://ttttime.wordpress.com)

I have one like it. Awesome. It makes the first batch in a few minutes. Within an hour, the basket is full.

Here is the MANUAL

The Mfr. web site

I’ve been wanting one of these. Hopefully there are some left in the morning. :slight_smile:

As a veteran tailgater (see my sig) this might be nice in the parking lot but some questions I have.

[list]
[]It has an A/C plug. How many watts does it pull? (might need a portable generator too if it pulls too much juice.)
[
]Does it come with a 12-volt power cord to use in my cigarette lighter outlet?
[*]How heavy is it without water and ice?
[/list]Just want to know if it would be worth it to take tailgating.

The unit DOES NOT keep the ice cubes frozen once they are made. It’s designed to make ice until the removable tray is filled. In other words once the ice making process fills the tray, the unit does not keep the ice frozen. The ice making process stops until you remove ice or a portion melts.

A sensor at the top of the tray detects the ice level. Once ice is removed or a portion sufficiently melts the ice making process starts up again. The water from the melted ice drips down into the water reservoir below and is reused. The unit is well insulated and well made for that matter so if not used immediately the ice melts similar to ice in a cooler.