Mountain House Freeze-Dried Food

This is maybe $1-$2 cheaper per bag than buying from REI. When taking tax (for CA residents like me), Woot shipping, REI’s 10% off freezed-dried food when buying 12, and REI’s dividend into account, they’re a wash.

The products themselves are good. Chili Mac w/ Beef is the best, then Beef Stroganoff and Beef Stew. The others are also good, but avoid any ethic freeze-dried flavors. They never taste right (e.g. Thai noodles). The deserts are also delicious but don’t expect them to look like their actual description, pouring boiling water into a powered bag of Raspberry Crumble isn’t going to make it magically form into air-risen cake. It’ll taste more like a home mix right before you put it into the oven to bake.

These are pretty good. The lasagna is the best by far, I buy them all the time for easy backpacking meals.

I’ve been eating and enjoying MH food for 40 years or more.

I have found that if the name is appealing to you, you will likely like the dish.

I’ve been relying on reviews of various MH foods when I buy them for camping trips, but the truth is that you really need to try them for yourself to see if you will like them. I’ve found some well-reviewed ones that I didn’t think were so great (breakfast skillet, for example, gets good reviews but it’s really mediocre at best in my opinion) and I’ve found some that tasted kind of good that didn’t get the best reviews.

Also, on a few of the ones I’ve had so far (can’t remember off-hand which ones exactly), the directions call for about 1/4 cup of water more than necessary.

It is cheaper to buy these through mountain house on amazon.com free shipping vs woot $5 flat rate(which i love) but on this deal there is no reason to buy these.