Tips for New Designers

I know there’s a thread that covers the ground rules of the derby, but I thought it might be interesting and valuable if some of the designers that have been around a while shared some tips with newer designers. Hopefully this isn’t presumptuous on my part, but it took me months of stumbling before I got my first shirt printed, and if there was some depository of derby tips it might have made the experience much easier. I don’t claim to be an expert on anything – I feel like I’m still learning myself – so just take my tips with a grain of salt. This is just what I find works for me, and I don’t even use them all the time. Feel free to offer up some of your own. Hopefully we can keep it positive?..

Look around Check out sites like Threadless and Design by Humans. They have a different fan base and often print different styles than woot does, but you can really pick up how a design works or doesn’t work on a shirt. I’m not suggesting find someone else’s style and copy it, just look at how they present their ideas on a shirt. I come from a concept art background, and that doesn’t naturally translate to wearable shirts. Looking at how others do it really helped me figure out how I could as well.

The First Idea that Comes to Mind Every now and then that first idea is derby gold, but most of the time, for me anyway, it’s the same first idea that everyone else is having. Years of watching the same TV and Movies, reading the same books, hearing the same jokes, means that when we get a theme we probably have very similar things come to mind. When I get those initial ideas I try to decide “is this actually going to be a unique design, and if not can I somehow make it unique?” Usually the answer is no and no and I try to move on to the next one.